These are the groups for Day 2 of the People’s Pop Poll! Obviously it contains SPOILERS for the day’s matches so if you’d prefer to be surprised read no further! As usual, these are in order from the group with the most-streamed tracks to the one with the least.

Division 1 GROUP 2:

AZEALIA BANKS ft LAZY JAY – “212”: Debut single and viral hit from New York rapper and nemesis of Grimes.

THE KNIFE – “Heartbeats”: Breakthrough single for gnomic Swedish sibling synth/experimental duo.

PARAMORE – “Hard Times”: Lead single from their 2017 After Laughter LP, completing the band’s pivot to pop. Big on TikTok, I’m reliably informed.

RACHEL PLATTEN – “Fight Song”: Chart-topping self-empowerment anthem for New York singer-songwriter.

Division 2 GROUP 2:

BASEMENT JAXX – “Good Luck”: Grammy-nominated floorfiller from the dance duo’s Kish Kash album. Features Lisa Kekaula on vocals.

BJORK – “Army Of Me”: Aggressive lead single from the Icelandic singer’s second LP and a Top 10 hit.

ROYKSOPP ft SUSANNE SUNDFOR – “Running To The Sea”: Collaborative 2013 single by the Norwegian electronic act and songwriter, an “expression of compulsion”.

TOBY FOX – “MEGALOVANIA”: Videogame soundtrack banger from the creator of indie smash Undertale, which has racked up streams via TikTok popularity too.

Division 3 GROUP 2:

AT THE DRIVE-IN – “One Armed Scissor”: Signature track from Texan post-hardcore outfit, whose exploits have been extensively covered by Bec on this very site!

BABYMETAL – “Gimme Chocolate!”: This “kawaii metal” song became the international breakthrough track for the Japanese metal girl group.

ELECTRIC SIX – “Gay Bar”: International hit for Michigan disco-rockers, later something of a millstone.

NINE INCH NAILS – “The Perfect Drug”: Single from the soundtrack for Lost Highway and goth-industrial guru Trent Reznor’s least favourite of his own work (apparently!).

Division 4 GROUP 2:

BILL CALLAHAN – “Too Many Birds”: Tender avian reflection from the former Smog singer’s 2009 set.

BJORK – “Hunter”: Bjork’s second appearance today, a single from Post in whose video she transforms into a “techno bear”.

TALKING HEADS – “Listening Wind”: Deep cut from 1980’s Remain In Light, with Eno production and a less oblique than usual lyric.

TWIN SISTER – “All Around And Away We Go”: Critical smash single for the dreampop band now known as Mr. Twin Sister

Division 5 GROUP 2:

THE DIVINE COMEDY – “Tonight We Fly”: Stirring closer to the orchestral-pop band’s 1994 concept LP Promenade.

THE MAGNETIC FIELDS – “Smoke And Mirrors”: A cut from 1995’s Get Lost LP which finds songwriter Stephin Merritt ruminating on the end of a relationship.

MINT ROYALE ft LAUREN LAVERNE – “Don’t Falter”: Manchester electronic duo recruited the former Kenickie singer (and now 6 Radio stalwart) for this minor hit.

PULP – “The Trees”: Arboreal ballad forming half of a double A-Side which trailed the We Love Life LP.

Division 6 GROUP 2:

ABBA – “King Kong Song”: Notorious cinematic gorilla hymned in this glam rocking album cut from the Swedes’ 1973 Waterloo.

CHRIS FARREN – “Human Being”: 2016 single from punk musician Farren, ex of Fake Problems and other bands.

HONEYBLOOD – “The Third Degree”: Lead single from Scottish indie-rockers’ 2019 LP, which saw the former duo morph into a solo project for songwriter Stina Tweedale.

THE SHE-CREATURES – “Sexy Robot”: Closing out day 2 of polling with this Venusian garage rock act who are not on Spotify.