Apr 07

now why would this make anyone suspect match-fixing?

FT + TMFD5 comments • 1,026 views

The Guardian reports a very amusing scandal in Ghanaian football. If two teams both won on the last day of their season, promotion to the top division would be decided by goal difference. At half-time it was 1-0 to the promotion hopefuls in each game. Then, it is alleged, both managers or other interested parties bribed the opposition to concede a few extra goals in the second half…

Final scores: one finished 28-0, the other 31-0. All four teams involved have been punished by relegation, fines and loads of suspensions (46 people, a year each). Manager of the team that had, for a moment, won promotion is Abedi Pele, who I remember as a terrific player. He says “My contention is that while the scoreline may raise eyebrows, it doesn’t provide irrefutable proof that the match was fixed.” Of course he is right, and when I am elected the next Miss World I plan to use the same argument, that a highly unattractive 47 year old man may be a surprising winner, but that doesn’t prove anything underhand is involved.


  1. 1
    stevem on 19 Apr 2007 #

    They should’ve at least checked with each other first to make sure they didn’t both have the same idea.

  2. 2
    CarsmileSteve on 19 Apr 2007 #

    imagine Jeff Stelling doing soccer saturday as these scores came in, i think he might have actually exploded, he was excited enough when forfar got 7 or 8 put past them the other week…

  3. 3
    Pete on 20 Apr 2007 #

    Suspicion of match fixing in Ghana = 46 players full year suspension.

    In Italy?

  4. 4
    Ben on 20 Apr 2007 #

    Apparently you could lip-read Stelling saying the “f-word” when Barnet took the lead against Hartlepool two weeks ago!

    Abedi Pele was a class act. Only three players have ever won African Footballer Of The Year three times, and Abedi Pele was the first to do it (and did it with three consecutive wins, beating off competition from the likes of Tony Yeboah and Francois Oman-Biyik). From 1989 onwards, the winners of African Footballer of the Year were:
    89: George Weah
    90: Roger Milla
    91: Abedi Pele
    92: Abedi Pele
    93: Abedi Pele
    94: George Weah
    95: George Weah
    96: Nwankwo Kanu
    97: Victor Ikpeba
    98: Mustapha Hadji
    99: Nwankwo Kanu
    00: Patrick Mboma
    01: El Hadj Diouf
    02: El Hadj Diouf
    03: Samuel Eto’o
    04: Samuel Eto’o
    05: Samuel Eto’o
    06: Didier Drogba

  5. 5
    Martin Skidmore on 20 Apr 2007 #

    Perhaps he will be getting a manager of the year award now, for that rather convincing win in a crucial match.

Add your comment

(Register to guarantee your comments don't get marked as spam.)


Required (Your email address will not be published)

Top of page