26
Jul 06

Match Fixing? Just a bit of fun (click thru for duck action)

FT + TMFD5 comments • 900 views

So while Italian clubs get their punishment reduced for the heinous crime of match fixing, the BBC treat something which is clearly as suspicious with the lightest of comic touches. An entire village cricket team get out for ten ducks and a man stranded on 0 not out*. This almost unthinkable result is treated as a bit of a gag, without anyone going around the local bookies to see if a bet had been laid on the lowest score in a village cricket match. You could blame a dodgy wicket, and indeed they do, but even so one has to think it was the dodgiest, one sided wicket in cricket history. Luckily the opposition Dishforth also smelt a rat, so gifted them a few extras to leave them on 5 at the end.

An even bigger duck that the BBC's oneIn professional sport someone would have investigated this anomaly before sticking a picture of a giant duck on the article, appended with quack, quack oops – which any fool knows is sound which comes from snooker, not cricket sound. Anyway, the BBC didn’t try hard, I found a much bigger duck on the internet. And you can go visit it on Route 24 in the US if you fancy a big duck hunt – (paging Dr Quack).

 *Thinking of how they could all be out for a duck: all I can come up with is a double stumping. Am I right? Bizarre cricket scenarios pls in the comments. 

Comments

  1. 1
    pˆnk s lord sükråt cunctør on 26 Jul 2006 #

    surely they could all be (eg) bowled normally — six wickets at one end, change ends, four at the other? or have i misunderstood yr question?

  2. 2
    Pete Baran on 26 Jul 2006 #

    Question, can you have 11 ALL OUT!

  3. 3
    pˆnk s lord sükråt cunctør on 26 Jul 2006 #

    oh sorry

    the ten ways of getting out =
    *Caught
    *Bowled
    *LBW
    Run-out
    *Stumped
    Handled the ball
    *Timed out
    *Double hit
    *Hit wicket
    Obstructing the field

    with all of the *s i think the 10th wicket would automatically end play,

    even if a second run-out was effected it would be (1xsecond) after the end of play — tho maybe not if the appeal was sluggish and the umpire hadn’t yet ruled

    maybe if one player handled the ball while the other simultaneously obstructed the field!

  4. 4
    Pete Baran on 26 Jul 2006 #

    Run out is the only way I can see it happening I guess. At least for the second of the two final wickets.

  5. 5
    pˆnk s lord sükråt cunctør on 26 Jul 2006 #

    but with run out the first (=10th wicket) wicket would have to be a “non gamestopper” (or else not appealed quickly enough)

    unless both batsmen were running for the same wicket and were equally far from it? you have to knock the bails off at the end the batsman is running for, you can’t generally get them both out with one swipe

    i still favour simultaneous handling and obstruction, esp as the kiss-off to the outrageous cheating described in your story!

Add your comment

(Register to guarantee your comments don't get marked as spam.)


Required

Required (Your email address will not be published)

Top of page